|Frequently Asked Questions
What is my license/permit/record ID number?
Your number is the RED number
located in the upper right corner of your license/permit. This number and/or
your Social Security number should be on everything you submit to our office.
Why do I have to send in a photo?
By law, photos must be less than three (3) years old. The photo you send will be
scanned onto your license. This photo must be a passport-type photo (color,
head-and-shoulders, full frontal view). Snapshots, glamour shots, cell phone
shots are not acceptable. A passport-type photo may be purchased at CVS,
Walgreen’s, Wal-Mart or other business that provides passport photo services.
Only one (1) photo is required.
When do I have to renew my personal license?
Personal licenses are renewed in odd-numbered years during your birth month. For
instance, if your birthday is April 17th, you will renew during the month of
April in odd-numbered years (9, 11, 13, 15, etc.). If you do not renew during
your birth month, you will be assessed a late fee of $50.
If your license is expired for more than three (3) years, you must pass the
practical exam then pay the back fees to when your license expired. Please
contact our office for this application.
How do I renew my license?
You may renew online – on our homepage, just click on “Click here for Online
Renewal” and follow the instructions. If you’d rather print out a renewal and
mail it in, this link is available on our homepage -- just “Click here to print
2013-15 renewal” or go to the Applications Section of our website, print a
renewal application and mail it to our office.
Renewal notices will not be mailed
for the 2013-15 renewal cycle.
Why do you need my Social Security number for License information?
This requirement is mandated by the Federal “Personal Responsibility and Work
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996” and Section 30-3-194 of the Code of
Alabama, 1975. If your Social Security card requires INS Authorization or DHS
Authorization, you must also send a copy of your Permanent Resident card or
Naturalization or other permission to work.
A print-out from the Social Security Administration is unacceptable. You must
send a copy of your actual Social Security card.
Why do I have to renew during my birth month if I just received my first
By law, no license is valid for more than two (2) years. The $15 original
license fee that you paid gets you into the renewal cycle. Once you are in this
renewal cycle, you will renew every two (2) years.
What is a manager?
Alabama law requires that every salon has a Manager On Duty. A person who holds
a manager license may run a salon or rent a booth. You must hold an active
license for at least one year and pay an upgrade fee of $ 15 to be issued a
What is a master?
A master license is required to sponsor an apprentice. You must first be a
manager and document completion of 8 hours of Board-approved continuing
education before being licensed as a master; however, you may upgrade to manager
and master at the same time by paying the appropriate fees of $15 for each
upgrade, or a total of $30. Master licensees must complete 8 hours of board
approved continuing education during each license cycle to maintain master
status. If no continuing education is received with the renewal, your license
will be downgraded to a manager license.
What is an instructor?
To become an instructor, you are required to attend a licensed
cosmetology/manicure/ esthetic school, and take and pass both sections of the
instructor exam. Instructor licensees may also sponsor apprentices or run a
salon. Instructor licensees are required to complete 16 hours of board approved
continuing education during each license cycle to maintain their license status.
If I am licensed in another state, how do I transfer that license to Alabama?
First, you must request that Certification from your current state be sent to
our office. This must be sent directly from your current state directly to our
office. This should not be sent to you to be forwarded to our office, but should
be sent to us by the state office only. Wait 2 (two) weeks after you request
this before contacting our office. We can do nothing without this first. Once we
receive this Certification, we will send you the paperwork you must complete and
notify you if you are required to take any exams. There is a minimum $100 fee
for this service.
Any questions concerning reciprocity, please contact Denise in our office at
How do I transfer my license from Alabama to another state?
License Certification Request
You must make a written request for the board to send a letter of certification
to the state to which you are moving. You may print out and complete the License
Certification Request (above). You must include a copy of your current Alabama
License, your Social Security card and current Driver’s License with your
request. There is no fee for this service.
How do I transfer my license from another country to Alabama?
Please contact our office for the correct application. There is a minimum fee
for this service and you will be notified of the amount and if you are required
to take any exams.
How many hours must an apprentice complete?
See Apprentice Brochure
Cosmetology and esthetics apprentices must complete 3,000 hours of training
within a three-year period. Nail apprentices must complete 1,200 hours.
How many hours must a student complete?
Cosmetology and esthetics students must complete 1,500 hours of training. Nail
students must complete 750 hours of training.
How soon after completing school or apprenticeship do I have to take the
Once you have completed school, you and your instructor are jointly responsible
for applying for the exam within 90 days..
Apprentices must become licensed within two years of their completion date. This
includes taking and passing both portions of the exam.
How do I change my name on my personal license?
At the time you renew your license, please furnish proof of name change by
sending a copy of documents such as marriage license, driver's license or
certificate of divorce..
How do I change my address on my personal license?
You must inform the board promptly in writing of any address change. Your file
will be amended so that you may be sure to receive correspondence from the
If my license is lost or stolen how do I get another one?
Please contact our office at (800)815-7453 for the correct application or you
may download the Request for Duplicate Personal License from the Applications
Section of this website.
How do I open a new salon?
You may print the new salon application from the Applications Section of this
website. Please follow all instructions. The application must be in our office
at least 60 days before the opening date.
How do I change the name, location, type or manager of a salon?
You may download a copy of the salon change application from the Applications
Section of this website. Please follow all instructions.
How do I file a complaint?
You may submit a written and signed letter or download a copy of the complaint
form from the Applications Section of this website and follow instructions.
How do I change from an Inactive license to an Active license?
You may download a copy of the Inactive to Active application from the
Applications Section of this website.
Do I have to send in all of the requirements listed on the application?
Yes. If all requirements are not received with the application, everything will
be returned to you. If you have any questions concerning the requirements,
please contact our office at 1-800-815-7453.
What address do I send my payment and/or application to?
Our mailing address is P. O. Box 301750, Montgomery, AL 36130-1750.
Our physical address is 100 North Union Street, Suite 324, Montgomery, AL 36104.